01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Hikconnect or alternative ddns service

darkmanx

Hi

Just looking for some advice I've read through a lot of the guides as I'm awaiting delivery of a new Hikvision NVR and 2 x cameras to get me started with my home CCTV.

As I'm on a dynamic IP at home I was thinking I'd need the HiDDNS until I saw it's been discontinued. Is the HikConnect a good enough alternative, is it reliable enough to use with a dynamic IP or would people recommend going down the NO-IP etc route?

Is it a bit too basic or will it provide good enough functionality?

I work in IT so no issues configuring an external DDNS service but wanted the thoughts on people more experienced in the Hikvision products for advice before I start.

Many thanks

Hi,
Hik-Connect is free to use and easy to setup, I'd say give it a try and see what you think :)
No reports of it being poor at DDNS / reaching your dynamic IP address.

Many thanks for the quick reply Phil I'll try it out.

Do you need to have UPNP enabled or can the app connect to the NVR just with port forwarding from the router in place?

If you use Hik-Connect you do not need to manually configure port forwarding.
It uses UPnP.
I'm not sure if that's enabled by default.
You need to enable 'Platform Access' in your NVR as per the below screenshot:

HikVision Platform Access 10-1-18.png

Overview of Hik-Connect here:
https://forum.use-ip.co.uk/threads/hikconnect-in-a-nutshell-how-does-it-work.1519/

Lots more setup details on HikVision's Hik-Connect here:
https://forum.use-ip.co.uk/threads/hikvision-hik-connect-setup.1144/

Hi Phil

I'm having trouble with Hik-Connect... hopefully you can help. Thanks for the links above - google searches had initially led me to your old mega guide which takes you through HiDDNS which I discovered is dead. Hik-Connect looks much simpler but I cannot get it to work remotely.

I have a DS-7608NI-I2-8P NVR and a single DS-2CD2185FWD-I (bought from you I hasten to add!)