01304 827609 info@use-ip.co.uk Find us

Hik-Connect Hik Connect abroad

Artman

Hi I’m a newbie and have recently installed HiLook NVR and bullet camera at home in UK with Hik Connect working fine on iPad and iPhone. Now abroad (in Sweden) and cannot connect at all? Get DVR offline and ‘connection failed’. Any help appreciated - like can I do anything here while abroad or/and if I make changes to the setup when home how do I know it will definitely work when overseas. Is there an alternative to Hik Connect maybe? Previously used XMEye with a different CCTV setup and it remotely connected all over the world with no problems. Guidance/help appreciated for a non IT thicko.

It should work just fine abroad - on a recent holiday to Portugal I was easily able to check our office system using Hik-Connect.

Now that you are abroad it is unlikely that you will be able to make setting changes to rectify this.

When you get home, begin by checking whether your current configuration allows you to access your system via Hik-Connect when away from home in the UK e.g. using your mobile data, or a wi-fi connection elsewhere.

Thanks for the prompt response Phil - sounds like I’m stuck in this Swedish forest without being able to view my UK house. I have good WiFi and data reception where I am and according to Google I’m obviously not the only person with this issue.

I would have thought the default when setting up remote viewing with Hik Connect would have been everywhere - but obviously not.

As Hikvision don’t supply printed owners manuals, I have just looked at the online PDF pages but can’t see anything related to setting up remote viewing for overseas. If you do happen to know where this is exactly on the interface I may be able to ask someone in the UK to try and adjust it for me just so I can see if this works before I leave? Also I’m new to these forums and apologise if there is a already a thread related to this issue but I couldn’t see it.

Thanks again, Rick